How to Improve Sales by Getting Happy via Shawn Anchor

In a recent article for CNN, Shawn Anchor discusses the relationship between happiness and success stating:

“A decade of research in the business world proves that happiness raises nearly every business and educational outcome: raising sales by 37%, productivity by 31%, and accuracy on tasks by 19%, as well as a myriad of health and quality-of-life improvements.” 

If you’re a business owner and you hear about something that will raise sales by 37% and productivity by 31% you pay attention. Therefore I decided to read the article and listen to the TED Lecture (below), despite the fact that I typically regard books and articles about “getting happy” as things that belong in the self-help category on Amazon – which is not a section I frequent because I’ve never seen the value.

I don’t like gooey emotions. I like logic and getting things done (I was raised by a management consultant/software programmer with an MBA [my dad] after all). However, having also been raised by a therapist (my mom)* I am able to appreciate the incredibly large role that emotions play in one’s ability to get stuff done.

Therefore, I am going to try (at least some of) Anchor’s tips and I would encourage you to do the same. Then let me know if they work for you. If you see a difference in your life and in your business, share it in the comments.

Here is the TED Talk:

Here are Anchor’s tips for getting happy to improve your business outcomes:

  1. Write down 3 new things you are grateful for each day
  2. Write for 2 minutes a day describing 1 positive experience you had over the last 24 hours
  3. Exercise for 10 minutes per day
  4. Meditate for 2 minutes focusing on your breath going in and out
  5. Write 1 quick email first thing in the morning thanking or praising someone in your social support network

If you try these tips out and/or have your employees try them out let me know what (if any) difference it makes to you and your company. Good luck!

*As a side note, both of my parents are entrepreneurs and the two have been happily married for more than 33 years. They should be writing blogs about how to achieve work/life balance and how to maintain a happy marriage.

Leave a Reply

